Home Competitions/Awards BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2020

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2020


Deadline: 30 Jun,2020    Next term Starts:: 23 Sep,2020



The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards recognize fundamental contributions in a broad array of areas of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities and artistic creation, as listed in point 2 of these call conditions.

The disciplines and domains of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are:

  1. Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  2. Biology and Biomedicine
  3. Information and Communication Technologies
  4. Ecology and Conservation Biology
  5. Climate Change
  6. Economics, Finance and Management
  7. Humanities and Social Sciences
  8. Music and Opera

The Climate Change award recognizes both research endeavors in confronting this challenge and impactful actions informed by the best science. In Humanities and Social Sciences, the award will alternate annually between these two disciplinary domains, with this thirteenth edition dedicated to the Humanities. Finally, the Music and Opera category encompasses composition, instrumental and vocal performance, musical and stage direction, and video art creation associated with musical or operatic works.


Eligibility and Criteria

  • Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change.
  • Awards may not be granted posthumously.
  • Self-nomination is not permitted.

Any scientific or cultural organization or institution can submit nominations, following their own internal procedures. Among them:

  • Scientific or artistic societies and organizations
  • National and regional academies of science or culture
  • Public or private R&D centers
  • University schools, departments or institutes and research or teaching institutes
  • Hospital departments and biomedical research centers
  • Schools of music
  • Orchestras, orchestra associations, opera theaters and opera associations
  • Public agencies and supranational, national or regional organizations substantially engaged in analysis and/ or activities relating to climate change
  • Other scientific, cultural and environmental organizations

Winners of the Nobel Prize in any of its categories are likewise eligible to nominate, as are past winners of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards.

  • The BBVA Foundation may also invite nominations from researchers and cultural creators that have made outstanding contributions in their respective fields, establishing consultative or advisory panels to this end.
  • The same organization, institution or individual nominator may put forward more than one candidate without limitation of number, but no candidate may be nominated in more than one award category.


Awards and Benefits

  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards will be decided before April 30, 2021.
  • The Frontiers Awards will be presented at a formal ceremony to be held during June 2021 in the Euskalduna Conference Centre, Bilbao. A gala concert will take place the evening before in the same venue.
  • Laureates must agree to attend the presentation ceremony. In the case of awards going to teams, these will be represented by no more than three of their members.
  • If an award goes to a legal person, it must furnish the following documents after being notified of the award decision:
  • A copy of its bylaws
  • A copy of its tax identification number
  • A statement from the pertinent governing body of the organization or institution confirming its acceptance of the award
  • The fact of participating in the present edition of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards signifies the acceptance of its conditions and award decisions, and renunciation of any claim in their respect on the part of both nominators and nominees.


How To Apply

To apply please click here